Skip Navigation

About Us

SARA North Carolina

On July 16, 2015, representatives from all three higher education sectors in the state (2-year public community colleges, 4-year public universities, and private colleges and universities) convened to discuss how to establish a solid foundation for North Carolina's potential participation in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). After a year of intense negotiations the vision of the working group was realized when North Carolina become a member state of NC-SARA on June 9, 2016. SARA North Carolina is a program of the North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority.

North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority (SEAA)

The SEAA was created in 1965 by the North Carolina General Assembly to administer a "system of financial assistance" for students attending public or private educational institutions. For 50 years, the SEAA has worked with institutions to provide financial assistance to students, increase the college-going rate in North Carolina, and more recently, to provide a centralized residency determination service for the purposes of determining in-state tuition and eligibility for state grants at both public and private colleges and universities. NC-SARA was added as a program of the SEAA on January 26, 2016.

SARA North Carolina Advisory Council

The Advisory Council will provide advice to the Portal for the effective and efficient operation of the Agency. The members of the Council are:

North Carolina Community College Sector
Kathy Davis (Ex Officio); NCCC System
Ann Harrison; Brunswick Community College
Kristin Harrison; Caldwell Community College
Candace Holder; Surry Community College

North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities Sector
Steve Brooks (Ex Officio); NCICU
Hunter Stokes; Duke University
Ben Leslie; Gardner-Webb University
Lori McClaren; William Peace University

University North Carolina Sector
Dan Harrison (Ex Officio); UNC - System Office
Trina Gregory; Elizabeth City State University
Bonnie Grohe; Fayetteville State University
Steve Carter; UNC - Charlotte